Welcome, Guest

Want to take part in these discussions? Log in to your minted.com account

• Hello Minted community,

I recently joined this community and am looking forward to participating in the challenges. For now I have been getting acquainted by critiquing and rating others designs.

Question - what is the protocol if you find someone who has blatantly ripped off someone elses work? For the current design challenge I found someone's work to be familiar. I knew I had pinned the image on my Pinterest because I liked the color palette. After visiting Pinterest and finding the origin of the image, I learned that in fact it was designed by someone else.

This Minted artist didn't even bother to change the colors of the original. I left a comment and linked to the source where the actual artist is selling the prints.

What do you do in this situation? Is there anyone you can contact at Minted? I really love the idea of this community, and even though I'm new at it - would like to help maintain the integrity of the designs.

• Hi Lauren! Welcome to Minted! The best thing to do in this case is to send a note to designers (at) minted (dot) com, and Jen and Katy (who work with the designer community) will take it from there.

• Hi and welcome to Minted, Lauren!

I'm glad you asked about this topic, because copying is very serious and we don't want Minted's reputation to be tarnished because of unethical practices.  I just happened to spot the design in question, and you are right, that is an exact copy : ( I just sent an e-mail to Jen & Katy so thank you for spotting it! Take care and can't wait to see designs from you soon!

• Hi Ladies,

Thanks for your advice. I found a suggestion of how to deal with this in a "Newbie" discussion and sent an email to designers@minted.com with the design in question and a link to the original.